Training/racing with Type 1 diabetes

Kirklet
Kirklet Posts: 43
Hi, i'm after a little advice from people who either ride/race with or have rode/raced with type 1 diabetes in the past. I'm fairly new to the sport but not new to playing sport with diabetes, I played amatuer football to a good level for 6 years with diabetes before I decided to have a crack at cycling. I'm hoping to do 10 + 25 mile tt's this year and a few longer events, the white rose challenge in particular. The furtherest I've ridden on club runs is 50 miles up to now and I've been beasting a little 15 mile loop fairly regualar for the last 12 months, so apart from that i'm pretty green to the sport.

Anyways, I'm 36 but have only been diabetic for the last 7 years. Always been fit through football and weight training, then fate singled me out and whacked me with the diabetes stick :?

I run a tight ship generally with my sugar levels but I find cycling really zaps my sugar levels and plays havoc with my insulin regime. I've yet to pass out through low sugars on a bike or in any other form of sport and I get plenty of warning and on the odd occastion have run my levels pretty low (sub 2 ! :oops: ) and still remain fairly lucid. I'm getting my head round it but I was just looking for a little advice in general on a few points, mainly how to deal with the longer rides/races if anything.

I can manage my sugars fine over the shorter runs (sub 25mile) by using a bottle of lucozade to top me up if I feel myself running low, I've not really had any probs with these up to now but when it comes to the longer ones I was wondering if it's the done thing to take insulin whilst still racing?

Obviously I eat well the day before to make sure i'm fully carbed up etc and I tend to start rides running a tad high (8-11) and usually around 90 minutes after I've taken my fast acting insulin, longer if possible as I find the first two hours is when it's at it's most effective.