indoor 3km challenge

adam.hales
adam.hales Posts: 17
My gym are having a 3km indoor bike challenge...
wondering if anyone has done a simular type of thing before and what sort of times are respectable?
just taken part in a 1km on a concept2 and one of the personal trainers bumped me into 5th place so its payback time!!!
all tips and tricks welcome...

:twisted:

Comments

• i was a gym instructor at david lloyd and we had these challenges all the time, the best was 10 mins as far as you can, i got 13k, a rugby pro got 15k and the best was an 18yr old big guy got 16k.
    i started the challenge because i heard about a triathlete at another gym where i live who got 59k in an hour, ive heard that he can now do 65k in an hour!!!
    13k in 10 mins wiped me out.
    since that time working at a cannons gym we did a 1.6 k as fast as you can challenge and i think the fastest was 1min39secs (nothing special)
  • Dont no how many people on here train in gyms during the bad weather but maybe post on here the times were getting and have our own little compitition?
    Im gonna give it a try tonight or in the morning...

If anyones interested give it a go and post times.

3km indoor cycle
  • Well, a pro track cyclist could do it in a little over three minutes on an indoor track... so I guess it depends how the bikes are calibrated! I find exercise bikes too uncomfortable to use (I do train in the gym, but on a spinning bike, so no distance or power measurements, just HR) other wise I'd be keen to join in.

I suggest anyone doing this also logs their calories burnt so we have some idea of whether the different bike are comparable!
  • doyler78
    doyler78 Posts: 1,951
    On my gym bike to do 13km in 10 mins would require me to pedal at over 250rpm so I think I might sit this one out as I can't pedal anywhere near that fast :shock:
  • doyler78 wrote: