soya v dairy

are there any downsides to using soya products instead of dairy.i have been using soya milk yoghurt etc for a couple of years but have just read that soya will surpess male hormones(does that mean my hair wont fall out)i also notice that certain energy food drinks companys state that there products are made from whey and not soya.so should i switch back,i made the switch to soya on the advice that cows milk was bad for us.

Comments

• nipon
    nipon Posts: 68
    Cows milk is bad for us,what you on man? :D
  • alfablue
    alfablue Posts: 8,497
    There do seem to be some significant questions about possible adverse health effects of cow's milk (including cancer, Crohn's disease), though it also has health benefits. Soy or Soya milk also has pro's and con's, though the con's appear to be fewer and of less significance. Unfortunately the research is not conclusive. Soy milk if with added calcium seems to have all the benefits of cow's milk and fewer of the risks. There is said to be an effect on testosterone production, but personally I could do with that being toned down a bit!

Personally, I am not keen on cows milk, I wonder if non-organic methods of production mean we get milk plus toxins, hormones and antibiotics, and the means of producing dairy products is cruel. Soy milk tastes foul though - until you get used to it.
  • gkerr4
    gkerr4 Posts: 3,408
    are there any downsides to using soya products instead of dairy.i have been using soya milk yoghurt etc for a couple of years but have just read that soya will surpess male hormones(does that mean my hair wont fall out).

It won't make your hair fall out - but it might make you grow breasts!

No - seriously - it really might
  • redvee
    redvee Posts: 11,922
    Why did I read the topic title as a comparison between a shimano groupset and something else :oops:
    I've added a signature to prove it is still possible.
  • alfablue