Is this any good?

drummer
drummer Posts: 246
I'm new to road bikes and only had one about 6 months. Get out once a week at weekend. I also do a little commute on my mtb.
I'm 6'4 & 15st if it'd relevant.

I've done my 1st 60 mile ride today.

Did it solo and finished with an average of 15mph.

The most I've done before is about 45 miles.

What do you reckon?

All feedback welcome.
chris

Comments

• You've done well mate, have a little faith....now that you have a target, try to beat it next time out. 15mph is never going to win any races but it is respectable and gives a good basis for improvement.
    17 Stone down to 12.5 now raring to get back on the bike!
  • Mettan
    Mettan Posts: 2,103
    Yes, as Fuzzy mentioned, 15's respectable over 60 for a non-competitive rider. With 12 months regular training, you might be able up that to 17-18 mph over 50 or 60 - (depends on how hilly (and windy) the ride is though).Through regular training rides, you'll find that your body becomes increasingly conditioned to operate at higher intensities for longer- as a result you'll see your Avgs slowly rising over the months - it's all down to training though - there's no free lunch.
  • Sounds OK to me! I've just averaged 9.6mph going over Tan Hill into a gale, so as mentioned it really depends on the conditions. I'm happy with 15 mph and I can usually TT at something close to 22-23 mph.
  • liversedge
    liversedge Posts: 1,003
    Nice one. 60 miles is a bloody long way and almost a metric century ...
    --
    Obsessed is just a word elephants use to describe the dedicated. http://markliversedge.blogspot.com
  • 60 miles maybe you will impress someone, dont see the point meself not solo.
    i do 100 miles solo but i dont go around telling people.
  • fto-si
    fto-si Posts: 402
    Well done Drummer, keep it up and ignore the previous post by Rapid Uphill
    exercise.png
  • drummer
    Sorry if you have issues from when you were a child RAPID!

I'm NOT telling everyone.