Training Rides tempo or 2x20min?

garetjax
garetjax Posts: 175
edited September 2008 in Training, fitness and health
hi,

I want to improve fitess for time trialling. I am trying to establish a set of four weekly work-outs. So far Im thinking of:

1. 3-5hr ride steady averaging ~ 18mph. Road
2. 5 minute intervals a bit over time trial pace. Turbo.
3. a range of short 30sec-1minute intervals. Turbo
4. tempo or 2x20min. or open to suggestions.

Have a question re: the fourth ride: Would it be best to do a one-two hour "tempo" ride averaging 20mph OR split this ride into 2x20 min chunks going a bit faster at time trial pace , ~ 23mph for me. Or neither?

Not sure what to do for that fourth ride.

Comments

• deal
    deal Posts: 857
    Im no expert so cant answer your question, but could you not include a few 10-20 minute intervals in your long ride to get more out of it? should make it a bit more interesting too!
  • Cougar
    Cougar Posts: 100
    If you want to reach your full potential to race Time Trials then you need to identify how best to develop your capability to do this. Creating a weekly schedule for 4 weeks of mixed speed/endurance rides ticks all the boxes and if you can put it into practice then you will certainly see some progress. BUT

Unfortunately there is no one size fits all training plan that works for all riders. Personally I don't think it is possible to sustain that amount of interval training over 4 weeks and do it properly without overtraining. Recovery is where you mainfest gains in fitness levels and with interval trainingyvour body will need a couple of days to recover from a session.

If you are planning towards peaking for an event and/or time frame (say middle of June) then first develop the endurance side with longer rides at moderate pace (Dec-Mar) with only some interval/tempo work and then as you get closer to your target time reduce the endurance side and introduce higher intensity training (Apr-May)