Can anyone offer advice: I'm stuck

milton50
milton50 Posts: 3,856
edited September 2008 in Training, fitness and health
Hi guys,

After reading these forums and the advice given for a couple of months I felt like I had a good idea of what training I needed to do but at the moment I just feel a bit lost.

My main interest is in 10m TT's, partly because I like riding against myself but also because it should be a good way of gaining power for longer races.

I can't afford a turbo with a power meter (I am a poor student :cry: ) and so everything I do is on perceived effort and speed. Now after the last 10 or so weeks I've been doing 10 min intervals at around or slightly above time trial pace and 5 min intervals at a fair bit above time trial pace. During this time I have noticeably felt my legs getting more powerful and I can sustain a higher speed for longer. But when I ride a 10m TT course my time has hardly budged at all! Literally 30 seconds over 10 weeks. I just can't understand it. Every week I feel strong in training and I think 'right this is the week where I make a big jump' and then about 10 mins into my time trial (which I start at a steady pace) my legs just feel hollow and I fall back to my usual pace. What makes it more confusing is that when I finish my time trial I'm hardly out of breath at all! Normal breathing is resumed within 5 mins.

I'm lost :?

Comments

• Cougar
    Cougar Posts: 100
    As someone who has spent many hours doing strength exercises; many hours on a bike in all weathers creating an aerobic base; paid attention to detail on riding technique, cadence, smooth pedalling, and entered many races from 10 miles to 100 miles to build experience and learn pace judging skills; and suffered many months of the hard discipline of structured intervals and tempo rides. Well after all that and then for someone to come along after just 10 weeks of doing some interval training to turn in a performance would be hard to take.