Huge Porker on a road bike

Corporate Camper
Corporate Camper Posts: 293
edited September 2008 in Road beginners
Evening all,

I'm a great big fat bloke who enjoys a bit of cycling. During the "summer" I started riding home from work, if I go all the way it's 26 miles all on Sustans Route 51, if I'm pushed for time I get the bus half way and do 14 miles on country roads.

I did all of my riding on a Marin B17 MTB with semi slick tyres, but some scroate nicked it a couple of weeks back. Now I'm riding an old (but good condition) Raleigh Pro Race road bike (it's a classic!).

Getting to the point... I'm currently 277lbs, that's over 19.5 stone or under 126Kg. I've always been a bit of a Gorilla, but the weight is coming off the more I cycle (19 lbs so far and no hint of a diet in sight). Now, the Marin held up pretty well to me sitting on it, and the Raleigh has only done 28 miles with me on it so far (although I'll be adding 14 per day all this week) with no problems yet. Am I going to break it? Is there anything I can do to Fat Bloke proof it? If I were to buy a new bike (and I will in a couple of months) for around the £500 mark, is there anything the Portly Gentleman should specifically look for?

I have been eyeing up a Trek Soho 3.0 Hybrid, but I'm actually enjoying riding a road bike, even if I do feel like a complete elephant on the thing.
'12 CAAD 8 Tiagra

Comments

• ts hard to say mate without seeing its condition etc.
    I was 279 pounds but i bought a new bike. Had to get wheel builds for all of my bikes so far even though im only 16st 4 now. (still creeping down slowly)
  • I'm not really talking about this bike specifically, I bought it (second hand) on a whim about 8 years ago and rode it once, I didn't really like it and put it in the garage in favour of an MTB. Now it's my only bike and I started to ride it as a temporary measure, but I'm starting to really enjoy it, it's so fast!