How do you wash your bike?

harkins
harkins Posts: 25
edited October 2008 in Road beginners
Sorry about this, but being a bike newbie I keep asking what must seem like stupid questions.

So today I've been out on my bike for the third time but for the first time it's been wet - very wet!

I just wiped my bike down with a wet cloth and left it at that. But what do all of you do to wash your bikes and prepare them for the next ride? Any special procedures for the brakes and gear sets? And can you recommend any products?

Cheers

Comments

• Well whenever I get a bike back that's got mud & sweat all over it, there's only one way to clean it, and that's with water + sponge + detergent.

Make sure you dry everything afterwards otherwise parts start to corrode.

Other than that, this is how I prep my bikes:
    -pump the tyres up to ~100psi
    -check they have the right pedals installed
    -do a quick check of the headset / brakes / spoke tension
    -clean the chain with a rag & relube. Clean pulley wheels + apply lube. to be honest, I'm still trying to find a budget oil because I can't afford to be using Krytech on the whole fleet (and sometimes it doesn't even last for the duration that they're rented which is no good for me). Currently experimenting with motorcycle chain oil. It seems to be okay, albeit a bit too tacky. Before that I was using standard mineral oil, and I got tremendous mileage out of the drivetrains that were using it (provided they were cleaned as above every week).
    -check that all the gears work
  • unclemalc
    unclemalc Posts: 563
    edited September 2008
    see below...
    Spring!
    Singlespeeds in town rule.
  • I'm a bit of a nerd when it comes to cleanliness. If you pays a lot of money for a beautiful bike - look after it!!!