1.5 legs

azzurribike
azzurribike Posts: 58
edited September 2008 in Training, fitness and health
I started riding about 18 mths ago in prep for knee recon, previously a squash and hockey player for 20 yrs, now i'm hooked no more hockey no more squash i LOVE cycling! Last Aug I had the knee reconstruction (ACL) after the Op I was immobilised for a month and of course the leg wasted dramatically. Its a year on (3500kms) and I have been riding regularly (but not enough... its never enough is it once you have the cycle bug ). The leg is ... ok ish.

I have been slack re any other physio or rehab, just stuck to the bike. Any others with same experience? Has the leg come good without other rehab?

I have decided to take a crack at the Tour Down Under participation ride in Jan 2009 so on with the training. :) aiming for 300kms/week and a few 150km rides leading up to the event.
I used to play Hockey but now I ride.... one day like the wind :)

Comments

• I literally have only 1.5 legs and am only a couple of months back into it, so I know how you feel. I suspect I will need to incorporate other training to deal with issues like a lack of flexion in my left knee and a significant lack of strength* on the left side. It's only recently I've been able to use a full length crank for instance.

I rode the Adelaide hills and surrounds before and during the 1st 4 TDUs and loved it. Fantastic riding. Haven't been back since as the timing conflicted with track championships prep. It must be over a decade old that race now.

* It's interesting how I am barely strong enough to walk up stairs on the left leg (I still need a handrail) but I can still manage a 5-sec peak power of ~950 watts. The bike is great training for what you are looking to do but if you have body imbalances or other structual issues, then it would be wise to address them as well.