£500 budget for a road bike - advice please

porkloins
porkloins Posts: 39
edited July 2008 in Road beginners
hi, i've been riding XC on my specialized rockhopper for 12 months now, but i'm finding i ride more on the road than off road. I thought i would be a good idea to get a road bike so i can have the best of both worlds

as i've never owned a road bike i thought you lot might be able to help me out with the best bike for the task. i live on the yorkshire wolds, so most of the riding i'll be doing is fairly hilly B roads. i do 3 or 4 15 to 20 mile rides a week on my hardtail, i'm not mega fit but i'm just aiming to cover a few more miles and maintain a resonable level of fitness and fight the flab a bit.

i'm not after a full on race bike, so i'm guessing a sports bike is what i'll be looking for? the allez seems to be mentioned a lot, as i already have a specialized bike i'd certainly be confident buying another. could someone explain to me the pros and cons of having drop bars over flat bars?

thanks in advance :)

Comments

• ollie 1
    ollie 1 Posts: 6
    I would personally recommend the Claud Butler Roubaix. I've got the '07 model which Evans still have a few of at the bargain price of £349.99. It's pretty light and the gears are good for either leisurely cycling at about 10 mph or going quickly. My only complaint would be that the gears really aren't good for steep climbs. The lowest gear is still pretty high. As for everything else, the brakes are good, it's a good riding position (personal preference though) and the gears change nice and smoothly. If there's anything specific you'd like to know about it, just PM me.

As for drops over straight bars, it really is personal preference. It was really odd using drops for the first time after only ever owned MTBs but they are pretty easy to get used to. The most important thing to remember is, people who have drops don't use them all the time. I only use mine 50% of the time

Pros: