Weight Loss -----> From people who know please?

daz51
daz51 Posts: 159
Hey guys,

I have been cycling for 7 months nearly and in the last two months i have ben doin about 80 --> 120 mile a week.

now when i started i was told my weight would not go down as cycling turns your fat into muscle and muscle is heavier than fat.

now in that time i have got from 11st 5 down to 9st 5 ish, so a 2 stone weight loss.

all of a sudden though the weight loss as stopped ????? any idea why? have i reached my optimum weight for my height (5ft 5.5) ???????

Comments

• squired
    squired Posts: 1,153
    A someone who is 5' 6", with relatively small build I would say your weight is unlikely to drop much more. At the moment I am around 10st 0. The lightest I've been during my adult life was 8st 10, but most of the time I hover between 9st 7 and 10st. At the time I was 8st 10 I was doing a huge amound of cycling, but I also had a 26 inch waist and a terribly thin face (according to other people). I think you should be pretty content with being the weight you are now.
  • pllb
    pllb Posts: 158
    Agree with Squired. I went fairly rapidly from 15st 12lbs down to 12st 7lbs and have remained there for around 2.5 years now - happy with that and wouldn't want to lose much more. Could also be that now I am used to cycling more I know that I won't put on weight so easily and consequently don't watch what I eat as much as when I was losing weight.
  • Garry H
    Garry H Posts: 6,639
    daz51 wrote:
    Hey guys,

I have been cycling for 7 months nearly and in the last two months i have ben doin about 80 --> 120 mile a week.

now when i started i was told my weight would not go down as cycling turns your fat into muscle and muscle is heavier than fat.

now in that time i have got from 11st 5 down to 9st 5 ish, so a 2 stone weight loss.

all of a sudden though the weight loss as stopped ????? any idea why? have i reached my optimum weight for my height (5ft 5.5) ???????

Hi Daz