Building up mileage

Alibran
Alibran Posts: 370
I'm relatively new to cycling. I rode a bit last year - had visions of commuting by bike, and bought myself a new hybrid for that purpose, but soon gave up on that idea and just used the hybrid for leisure rides of maybe 10-15 miles or less. So, purely a recreational cyclist.

Early this spring, I decided I wanted a road bike, and knew the only way I could justify the expense to my partner was to demonstrate savings in petrol. So I started commuting a couple of days a week on the hybrid until she got the message, and bought my new road bike 2 months ago. (My partner now also has a road bike, and we're enjoying getting out for rides together.)

The trouble is, I can't seem to increase my mileage. Until I got the road bike, I was riding under 60 miles a week. When I bought it, the mileage immediately jumped to 80-100 (over 100 one week) because I wanted to ride it all the time, but that exhausted me, so I had to cut back again. At the moment, I seem to do 70-80 miles most weeks, and feel exhausted if I go any higher. This week is 80. I did a hard 28 miles yesterday (by my standards), and planned to do 10 miles or so today, but I feel too exhausted. (I did run 5 miles this morning, but I've been running for over a year, so I don't see that has affected me much, and it isn't unusual for me to run 5 miles in the morning and cycle 10 miles in the afternoon.)

I know my nutrition is right. I've worked really hard on that for the running, so I'm well fuelled and eating the right things at the right times to recover properly. I've just had a week off work, so I definitely got enough sleep this week. I'm just getting very frustrated.