GT Avalanche 1.0 OR GT Avalanche 2.0?

Skydipper
Skydipper Posts: 26
edited May 2008 in MTB beginners
Sorry if this has been asked before!

I'm just getting into mountain biking and I'm looking to go to the 7stanes trails. Now I'm interested in the GT Avalanche series, however I don't know whether to go for the 1.0 or 2.0! Could any of you good people please help because I dont know whether the 1.0 is worth the extra £100. Obviously I'd rather have that extra money to buy accessories etc, but is there is a lot of difference in quality between the two?

Thanks for your help, glad I found this site! :)

Comments

• BlackSpur
    BlackSpur Posts: 4,228
    The 1.0 has a better components all round, as well as 27 speed which makes upgrades easier. If you can afford the extra then I would say go for it!
    "Melancholy is incompatible with bicycling." ~James E. Starrs
  • Skydipper
    Ah right I see. How does the 27 speed make it easier to upgrade? Asking because I'm obviously new to this stuff and want to get to understand as much as I can :)

Wish I could find an 07 model of the 1.0, nowhere seems to have them now. It would be cheaper if i could find one.
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    With 8spd (or 24 spd) if you want to upgrade say the cassette to something better, it would almost definitely be a 9spd one (as Shimano and SRAM don't make top end 8spd anymore). That means you'd have to upgrade shifters as well.
  • Skydipper
    OK thanks for that Supersonic.

I've narrowed it down now a bit, there are so many bikes out there.

Its between the GT Avalanche 1.0 for £500 or

GT Avalanche 2.0 £400 - http://www.dalescycles.com/ProductDetai ... gtava22008

Specialized Hardrock Comp £300 - http://www.dalescycles.com/ProductDetai ... ECHRCOMP08

or the Giant Terrago for £325 - http://www.dalescycles.com/ProductDetai ... TERDISCS07

Scott Aspect 55 £329 - http://www.dalescycles.com/ProductDetai ... pect552008