Want to know what SIZE bike to get? READ THIS.

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    stand over is not really anything to consider with the advent of front suspension.

do you really put both feet down at the same time?
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • Not really but I have always been paranoid about it. I have even thought about selling it. My old hardtail, with no suspension is a 21" and a lot smaller than the 20".
  • hard-rider
    hard-rider Posts: 460
    Need some advice. As you've probably seen from my previous posts, I'm new to MTB and am looking at getting a Scott Scale 50. I'm 6'2" (188cm) with 34" (86cm) inside leg. I liive in the Algarve, Portugal where most men are fairly short so my LBS don't stock any XL (21") frames. I've tried calling shops as far as 300Km away but found none that stock a XL Scale frame.

I tried the L (19") frame in the shop and it felt fine to me but being a newbie I'm not sure how it'll be on a longer ride. If I choose to go for the XL size I'll have to stick with it as the shop will have to order it specially and will not be able return it if I don't like it. This seems to be the policy of all the shops. They say they very little demand for XLs so wouldn't be able to sell it on easily.

The differences between the XL and L are:
    Top tube (horizontal measurement)
    XL = 620mm
    L = 600mm

Stem length
    XL = 120mm
    L = 110mm

So the reach increases quite a bit. If the L size feels right should I just go for that instead of the XL? The shop said they'd sell me the L but they recommend the XL but they are just going by their chart which says size L up to 185cm tall.
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    If the L feels right it i the correct bike for you.
  • jaybo1973
    jaybo1973 Posts: 301