New road bike, punctures!! help!

faaj
faaj Posts: 66
edited April 2008 in Road beginners
Hey,

I brought and got a new giant scr 2 yesterday. Ive ridden it around 20 miles yesterday and 30 miles today, however today i seemed to have got 2 punctures each half an hour after each another. Ive fixed them with "leeches" puncture patches stuff however on my back wheel theres a slash not too big (1cm) the same which was shown on my inner tube. Now its all pumped up, the slash still shows and u can see very slightly the inner tube inside. Im wondering what do i do? Ive got the same michelin A2 tyres that came with my bike. If i am to buy some new tyres, which ones do you recommend because i don't really want anymore common punctures or have to replace my tyres as im on a budget (and im a beginner on road bikes, im not used to punctures etc. on my mountain bike)

Thanks looads

Comments

• doobie919
    doobie919 Posts: 119
    You definitely need a new tire if there's a slash and you can see the inner tube.

Leaving that tire on is just asking for trouble.

As far as what tyre to buy, i'm not sure, I just moved to the road world from the MTB world, so i'm not up to par yet with parts.
    2007 Fuji Newest 3.0.
    !!Upgrades!!!!!
    Cateye Velo 5 Computer

2009 Mongoose Subject BMX
    !!Upgrades!!!!!
    Sky blue tires
    New seatpost and seat ( made by pivotal)
  • fossyant
    fossyant Posts: 2,549
    Leeches don't work on road tyres as they can't take 100 PSI

With a slash you'll need new tyres. I like Michelin Pro Race 2's about £18 each, but there are plenty of other good tyres out there !
  • Doobz
    Doobz Posts: 2,800
    alot of riders who are prone to punctures use Gator skins

http://www.spacycles.co.uk/products.php ... 59s142p331

or you can get some Deda Tre Grinta's

http://www.shinybikes.com/bikes/deda-tr ... -tyre.html

Can get a few and see how they go
    cartoon.jpg
  • faaj