Tights???????????

dogllabtoof
dogllabtoof Posts: 52
edited December 2007 in Road beginners
Hello,

Been thinking about getting some tights for the winter.

Im new to riding, but have not felt the cold too much so far this winter. Is this a necessary purchase, considering they are not cheap? Would i be better with the bibbed type or just the normal kind? Can anyone recomend any to me? Would be wanting a seat pad included, and as cheap as poss.

Cheers

Comments

• ash68
    ash68 Posts: 320
    try www.wiggle.co.uk they have a range of dhb tights/bibtights from around £23 upwards. Look also at ron hill bikesters around £22. Depends on what your prepared to pay really. Personally I prefer bibtights as they offer abit more warmth and protection around the kidneys and lower back.Lusso also do a good range and are sold in many local bike shops. Good if you prefer to try clothes on before you buy.
  • grim168
    grim168 Posts: 482
    http://www.ribblecycles.co.uk/details.a ... SSZBBT0350

I swear by these when it gets cold and they are a little shower proof as well.

Graham.
  • It doesnt say on the link. do these have a seat pad?

Cheers
  • sonicred007
    sonicred007 Posts: 1,091
    Your knees are so vulnerable to the cold... even if you feel fine, you owe it to your knees for that added protection on a ride
  • Rich Hcp
    Rich Hcp Posts: 1,355
    Bibs with a pad are best for me, as said above, keeps the lower back warm.

Some prefer padded shorts undernieth bibs with no pad, it's personal preference really.

Bibs is best :lol:
    Richard

Giving it Large
  • It doesnt say on the link. do these have a seat pad?

Cheers

No, just a double thickness seat. I went out in th ewind and rain yesterday in mine (with a pair of padded bibshorts underneath) and was quite warm and comfortable.
  • grim168
    grim168 Posts: 482
    The Lusso ones have a bit of a pad but I always wear shorts under mine.

Graham.
  • Clever Pun
    Clever Pun Posts: 6,778