looking for a super simple training plan (newbie)

benny2891
benny2891 Posts: 68
Hi all.

Apologies in advance for the long post. I figured a little background might help.

I'm just getting into cycling with a view to increase my fitness. Up until the past week or so, I've been averaging 50 miles a week (about) mostly commuting, with the occasional jaunt into the country side. I'd say I average around 12mph around town. I almost never have ridden much more than 15 miles at a single go.

I work from home, so I can be fairly flexible with when / where I ride.

I'm 5'11'' and weigh in at 'round 80KG. Quit smoking about 2 years ago.

I'm really enjoying cycling, and am looking to do some Audax / fast touring rides at some point. I am not the least bit interested in racing / anything competitive, but I am interested in improving my 'personal best' as it were. For some reason, It never bothers me when people pass me. As long as I get there in time, I'm happy.

Finally, my knees are weak. I can really feel it if I 'push' too hard on the pedals for too long. Hills are the biggest issue at the moment. I've got a triple, and on the steep stuff I can just barely manage on the lowest gear I have (30x26) creeping up at 5-6 mph. :oops:

So, I'm wondering what is the most sensible approach to preparing myself for longer distances at a reasonable pace ? I am starting from a relatively low fitness level, so am I better off slowly adding mileage to my rides, or increasing the intensity of my rides, or both?

Finally, I don't have a HRM, but I do have a simple cycle computer (and a turbo trainer). If at all possible, I'd like to keep the gadgetry to a minimum, as the budget is tight these days.

Any suggestions on how best to proceed ? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Comments