SPD'S or not!

2»

Comments

• El Capitano
    El Capitano Posts: 6,401
    I can't ride unless I'm clipped in. I've tried flats, but I don't feel 'connected' to the bike.
  • Sev101
    Sev101 Posts: 56
    I have been using SPD's for six months now and compared to flats gave me a new lease of life - climbing is easier and from a personal point of view on short steep climbs encourages me to "go for it" a bit more cause I know that I only wanna unclip at the top of the hill plus the extra power through the cranks is useful!! - I have found that they make me think a bit more about how I am gonna ride a section as well - one tip I would give is make sure you leave room when approaching others as if they are a little inexperienced themselves sometimes they have caused me more problems than the shoes - just stopping dead in front of you etc when they get knackered on climbs and things!!!! I would not go back now to flats and the unclipping process soon becomes so natural you dont even realise!

Happy Biking!
  • Bromski
    Bromski Posts: 239
    I've just ridden my new SPD's today and I can't imagine why I was so worried!

I've been panicking for weeks about it since I ordered them and it's absolutely fine!

I stuck to paths and easy stuff today - hopefully I'll be saying that after I try Dalby in them!

The only thing I would say is that they didn't seem to offer me that much more in terms of performance, but maybe that will come when I hot the harder stuff too.
  • RussAlf
    RussAlf Posts: 706
    It will take you a while to get used to it, eventually you will just be used to pulling on the up. I dont think you would suddenly notice a change unless you went back to riding flats.
  • stevieboy
    stevieboy Posts: 704
    Another recent convert back to SPD's.