SPD'S or not!

btwellz
btwellz Posts: 92
edited November 2007 in XC and Enduro
Spd's or not

I have been riding MTB now for about 6 months and looking to make the change from clipless dmr's over to the Crankbrothers pedals that came with my bike. I'm a little concerned as I often put my feet down to steady myself on difficult sections or on banking single tracks. I did the beast yesterday at Coed Y Brenin and ended up face down in the dirt ( dam root ) at one point and I was wondering if my feet were clipped in what injuries could result e.g snapped broken ankles etc.

Ben

Comments

• Sir HC
    Sir HC Posts: 20,148
    When you fall, spd's generally unclip. Never had any problems putting a foot down then clipping back in.
    Intense Socom
    Inbred
  • Is it really worth the up grade?
  • If your doing downhill Big scary stuff all the time then stay on flats but if your ding XC stuff..........
    Go for it! Get the SPD's
    Once you have tried them you won't go back.
    There are all sorts of advantages to wearing them
    You can pull on up-hills
    You never get your foot slipping off the pedals
    If you do fall off the bike you generally get out of the cleet without realising how you got out
    My advice is try them.....I don't think you'll go back
  • The type of riding I do and enjoy is a bit of both I suppose. I regularly go to coed y brenin and nant arian and the climax as I live in Machynlleth ( midwales ) which leads me to the next question should I be on a full susser as I'm on a Zasker gt expert hard tail at the moment and my back shoulders did suffer yesterday on the beast.

Ben
  • I'm in the NE England and I do Dalby forest quite regulally.
    I personally feel the need for a full susser there 'cause my mates with hard tails end up getting sore (down below) if you know wot I mean :oops:
  • birchy
    birchy Posts: 309