Cadence and time trialling

kevin_stephens
kevin_stephens Posts: 184
edited September 2007 in Training, fitness and health
I know, I know - I pedal too slowly in too high a gear!

10 mile TT, PB 27:30 most of the time in high gear with avg cadence around 75

heart rate mostly 92% to 96%

problem is when I try and spin in a lower gear i just slow down

a) should I be over worried about cadence, or concentrate over winter in getting stronger and faster with my present style? or

b) If I learn to spin faster my times will get quicker at same % MHR?

If (b), is there any trick to improving cadence apart from the obvious of spinning on winter base miles?

I am 49, short with short legs which are strong from climbing rock and ice , I am relatively new to cycling and especially time trialling

Thanks for any pertinent training advice

Kevin
I want to climb hills so badly;
and I climb hills so badly

Comments

• BeaconRuth
    BeaconRuth Posts: 2,086
    Cadence during TTs is a very personal thing. I've never looked very hard for the science-based reasoning for using any particular cadence, mainly because I think the most efficient cadence for you is the cadence you've trained yourself to be used to. I've never seen evidence that, say, 85rpm is always less efficient than 90rpm - and I think that for most people they have more to gain by worrying about other areas of their training and performance than worrying about 4 or 5 extra revs of the pedals per minute.

That said, 75rpm seems very low to me - as you said yourself. To me, riding at 75rpm is just bad cycling, irrespective of any question of speed. You're unlikely to have a relaxed and fluid pedalling style and you won't be responding quickly to changes of pace (not that that's important for a tester, but being agile on a bike is not a bad aim for everyone).