Mid-Sussex Area Bike Rides

stevekaye10
stevekaye10 Posts: 13
edited June 2008 in MTB rides
Hi,

Anyone in the Burgess Hill area that knows of any good off-road rides? I have found a few decent bridleways around Hurst and Hassocks but nothing much else.

Cheers

Comments

• TonyS
    TonyS Posts: 104
    There is not a lot around Burgess Hill, especially after it's rained. Ditchling common is a good starting point but heading either to the Downs or west to places like St Leonards forest is the best bet.

Happy to give you a tour of the area (I live a few miles east of BH).
  • Hi Tonys,

Thanks for the offer and I would defo like to go out for a reccy. I must warn you though, that I am no pro at this game and I would hate for me to be holding you up and/or wasting your time.

To put you in the picture, I'm a 16 stone newbie and can manage 20 miles (ish) and moderate climbs (at a slow pace). Done the beacon a couple of times (with a few stops!!).

Cheers,
    Steve
  • lego
    lego Posts: 769
    TonyS, stevekaye10, I'd like to tag along if I could and you don't mind?, I'm only up the road in Bolnore village (but lived in B/Hill most of my life). TonyS what about the muddy arse ride this weekend that you've organised ( http://z6.invisionfree.com/Sussex_Muddy ... owtopic=98 ). Stevekaye10 could you make this?, Ian.
  • Sat or Sun? I'll be up for it defo.
  • Sorry, the 9th it says, So Sunday. Can I meet you guys beforehand, or just turn up at Wiv Green?
  • lego
    Sunday 10:30 if I've got it right. I think this link has more info ( http://sussexmuddyarse.wordpress.com/20 ... -9-sep-07/ ). is it ok to tag along Tony?
  • TonyS
    Of course just turn up. This ride is for beginners who want to sample MA before committing to joining the monthly ride.

It's just a loop from though West Wood onto Ditchling common and back but a good intro to the possiblities in the area plus a chance to meet some new faces & bikes.

c u 10:30 Wivelsfield Green car park.
  • lego