Motorbike or bicycle - which makes you more vulnerarable?

rjcastillo
rjcastillo Posts: 41
edited July 2007 in Commuting chat
I've noticed that a number of people here are bikers as well as cyclists, so I wonder which leaves you feeling more vulnerable. IMO it's the motobike; I've not worked out why, that's just how it is for me!

Your thoughts?

Comments

• Hairy Jock
    Hairy Jock Posts: 558
    It is easy to get a motorbike with more power than the inexperienced rider knows how to handle. As a cyclist the increase of power available only comes with experience, you can't just go out and buy extra muscle...
    Best advice I ever got was "better get a bike then"
    Cycle commuting since 1994. Blog with cycle bits.
    Also with the old C+ crowd at Cycle Chat.
  • rjcastillo
    rjcastillo Posts: 41
    Granted, but I've been riding motorbikes for 18 years. Given that fact I guess I'm so old that I can't ride fast enough to get myself in to trouble!

Seriously though I feel that on a motorbike I over take all other traffic faster than I am overtaken when on a bicycle. Maybe that's why it feels less risky.
  • i've had the full weight of a yamaha R1 on top of my right leg after taking a drop...i would without hesitation say that being on a motorbike makes you more vulnerable, i still to this day am nervous around motorbikes even when they wizz past me when they illegally use the cycle lanes. my body has been re-built with titanium and steel so trust me i know how dangerous and vulnerable you can be on motorbikes and bicycles!
    dangerous jules.
  • BentMikey
    BentMikey Posts: 4,895
    This is a pointless poll. Motorbikes are far more dangerous, around 4 times more so than bicycles according to the 2001 PACT stats.
  • squired
    squired Posts: 1,153