How can I keep up

walkeragain
walkeragain Posts: 20
I've done a few races this year and every race I lose out on about lap 3-4 and then start going backwards if not dropped, how Can I train to be able to keep up in racing? I've been cycling for about 3 years and only taken it seriously this year. I'd like to be able to keep up and not get lapped for once. Any hints and tips on what I can do training wise?
Where did all the Elephants go?

Comments

• mossycp
    mossycp Posts: 233
    What training do you do now?
    Today is your day, your mountain is waiting, so get on your way {Dr Seus}
  • mossycp wrote:
    What training do you do now?

I do about 150-200 miles a week mainly commuting and a big ride at weekends, but no real training structure of sorts
  • Intervals need to be in there somewhere...you mention laps, so assume you're riding crits? Intervals will train you to go flat out (and will have a significant effect on your speed) and to recover reptitively, just what you need for crit racing. I would say your current training is more suited to a sportive.....
  • Intervals need to be in there somewhere...you mention laps, so assume you're riding crits? Intervals will train you to go flat out (and will have a significant effect on your speed) and to recover reptitively, just what you need for crit racing. I would say your current training is more suited to a sportive.....

Any effect interval workouts I can do?
  • Bronzie
    Bronzie Posts: 4,927
    Any effect interval workouts I can do?

Anything that takes you right into the red zone (ie 95%+ max heart rate) for a minute or so and then allow your pulse to drop..............and do it again..........and again :shock:

Could try and fit it into your commute (sprinting for 1 minute flat out and then ride steady for 2 minutes............for 10 repetitions), or something more specific (is there a short steepish climb you can hammer up nearby, then ride back down and repeat?).