Sore Knee...again

Shadescp
Shadescp Posts: 34
hi,

i'm experiencing some pain on the outside or lateral part of my knee.

I first got it when - during a holiday in unfamilair terrain , plus wearing newly installed cleats - headed up a steep climb without a good warm-up. I think the cleats were also turned in a little too much. After 10-20 miles i got lateral knee pain. It came on quite quickly and soon was very painful indeed. I just managed to get myself home and was limping for the rest of the day.

I rested a few days and have since gradually (over 4 weeks ) increased my mileage until i was up to 3x30 mile bike rides per week. However, yesterday it came back after one moderate hour on a turbo trainer..

Any ideas what it is and how to recover? From basic research I'm wondering if it is ITB though the symptoms don't match perfectly.
I'm new to turbo training. Is it bad for knees? I was cycling at 70-80% max HRM for 1hr.

Comments

• ajohn9
    ajohn9 Posts: 260
    Hmm, ive been having the same problem in my left knee
    im not sure what the problem is either!!
  • ut_och_cykla
    ut_och_cykla Posts: 1,594
    Cleat position/lack of float? mebbe...?Move cleat outwards so foot/ knee doesn't 'roll' outwards under strain/when tired?
    Helped my hubby.
  • Ticaboy
    Ticaboy Posts: 314
    What shoes do use? Specialized Body Geometry shoes might be a good choice as they have been designed to compensate for awkward knee movements when clamped in.

Also, Time pedals allow for move float then many other pedal types too.
  • SeamusD
    SeamusD Posts: 30