PowerTap - Should I or shouldn't I ??

RidwarePhil
RidwarePhil Posts: 102
am considering investing in a PowerTap.

- I have been using HR based training for the last 3 years

- I purchased a polar S725 and power module last year and spent more time trying to get the power module to work correctly than training with it-

- The polar unit was fiddly to set up
- Didnt work on a trainer
- Kept dropping out during road rides
- Gave inconsistent power results

How much better is a PowerTap and will I spend as much time messing around trying to get it to work?

I am looking to buy second hand as I cant afford a new one but which model should I get? What should I look out for when buying?

Is the PT software any good or should I just et cycling peaks from the off?

I ride a great deal on the turbo due to work and family commitments and 2 wheels 1 for road and 1 for turbo with a turbo specific tyre. I have 2 bikes race and training with different wheels.

How does everyone else manage this situation? i.e. run the same tyre on turbo and road?

Do you bother with PowerTap on your race bike?

Sorry for so many questions ;-)
Must try harder..........

Comments

• Righto, I'll do my best to answer from my own experience.

Never used a Polar but the power tap is almost zero maintenance and config. Just press a couple of buttons to zero offset your torque before a ride.

When buying second hand go for the most recent model you can afford as they are the most reliable. Check out the special TdF offer that Ric Stern Coaching has on Power Tap SLs (20% off I think). If you do get second hand then the only worry I have is that the freewheel bearings get graunchy if not cared for.

I use cycling peaks. It is brilliant software. Your PT is of limited use without it.