Nearly 40mph

ScottHybridP5
ScottHybridP5 Posts: 8
edited December 1969 in Road beginners
Hi guys,

Nearly hit 40mph today!

I am relatively new to road riding and I didnt realise how hard it would be. I was on a decline though not a cliff edge and trying to get over 40 was really tough. I ride a standard Scott Hybrid sportster with 24 speed.

Is it just a matter of building up leg strength to get a faster speed?

What a rush though!

Cheers,

Ray

"Clip in and get going"

My Bike http://s189.photobucket.com/albums/z277/rwph/
Cheers,

Ray

"Clip in and get going"

Comments

• father_jack
    father_jack Posts: 3,509
    I've managed 35, on the flat...no assistance from a decline though. Without a headwind I managed to keep it up for a couple of miles (last time only managed half a mile)

<font size="1">
    Giant OCR-1 2005 | 2 x Cateye HL EL-500 | Cateye HL-EL400 | 2x Cateye TL-1000 | Lizard Skin chainstay protector | Cateye micro wireless computer | Laseredge Bikelights | Electron 5W+10W </font id="size1">
    Say... That's a nice bike..
    Trax T700 with Lew Racing Pro VT-1 ;-)
  • Aidocp
    Aidocp Posts: 868
    I got up to 39.7 or 8 peppering the brakes comming down the Wicklow mountains. I wish now that I'd been lighter on the brakes[:(]

If I had a baby elephant, who would take it for walks?
  • peejay78
    peejay78 Posts: 3,378
    it's hard.

i only ever get above forty on descents. on the way down towards hebden bridge i think i hit 51mph. i very nearly filled my pants.

winter: http://tinyurl.com/2xkbbs
    summer: http://tinyurl.com/2hsagv
  • DavidTQ
    DavidTQ Posts: 943
    I would have thought 40 was easier on some skinny tyres with some nice tall road bike gears? The road bike I tried out certainly felt as if it would be easier to get up to a higher speed than my current hybrid. I wont go over 30 on my hybrid far too much like hard work with its 48x14 top gear [:D]
  • fluff.
    fluff. Posts: 771