Thick Kids

Comments

• Asterixcp
    Asterixcp Posts: 6,251
    In the 80's I did a computer science degree and was rather surprised that those with considerable aptitude for programming had dreadful spelling when writing prose. As we all know, computers are rather picky about spelling, so how did these people spell correctly when using the programming language? (Our shoe-string facilities then did not include a spell-checker or similar aids)

Pour vivre heureux, vivons le v‚lo..
  • <blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"><i>Originally posted by Asterix</i>

In the 80's I did a computer science degree and was rather surprised that those with considerable aptitude for programming had dreadful spelling when writing prose. As we all know, computers are rather picky about spelling, so how did these people spell correctly when using the programming language? (Our shoe-string facilities then did not include a spell-checker or similar aids)

<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></blockquote id="quote"></font id="quote">

Possibly because the computer (unlike their teachers) did not let them get away with doing it wrong.
  • mr_hippo
    mr_hippo Posts: 1,051
    willski, you are going by one set of stats and as we know stats can prove anything. If you put your head in a gas oven on gas mark 3 and your feet in the freezer, overall you would be comfortable. You keep on about level 4 reading skills but how do they compare with the old 11 plus?
    Did you ever see that Channel 4 programme 'That'll teach them'? 30 bright students were 'transported back' to the 50s. They sat and mostly failed an exam in the first few days. They thought that it was an old 'O' level paper when in fact it was an old 11 plus! These students, going to start their A level course in the next school year, could not pass an exam set for 11 year olds! I admit that that was only a small sample.