Brain recalibration - a cost of living/modern life thread

Comments

• I think hospitality and leisure is the one industry that can probably justify increased costs. The pandemic followed by energy costs and then Ukraine etc. forcing up food prices, really left them little choice. I know examples where cafes/restaurants went from £20k a year on energy to being quoted renewals at £200k, completely unsustainable.

My major issue is other industries (bikes, energy, insurance etc.) using these events as an excuse to force their prices up massively and IMO unnecessarily.

• kingstongraham
    kingstongraham Posts: 26,336

Petrol was 140p per litre in 2012, so that's not really gone crazy (on average) since then, has it?

• ddraver
    ddraver Posts: 26,399

Hard agree on most of these!

Any gallic breakfast pastry that costs over 1Eur (outside of France) or a quid. Frankly that's our fault for allowing such nonsense

I saw a 4 tribute act at bournemouth O2 that "only" cost 20 quid last weekend. 4 for 1 isnt so bad

We're in danger of confusing passion with incompetence
    - @ddraver
  • ddraver
    ddraver Posts: 26,399

Less coffee less water. "Italian Style" is 14g of coffee from 7g of coffee whereas the hipster coffee movement has moved this on (rightly IMO) to taking around 30s to get 30-40g from 16-20g of coffee...

We're in danger of confusing passion with incompetence
    - @ddraver
  • kingstongraham

Given that most of us have pretty much given up on paying for recorded music, I'm more relaxed about increases in concert costs, but some acts really are taking the piss.

• Jezyboy
    Jezyboy Posts: 2,953

I'm not sure it's the artists that are benefiting as much as companies like Ticketmaster, but then there were similar issues with record companies back in the days of records

• wakemalcolm
    wakemalcolm Posts: 688
    edited March 16

Agree that show prices should reflect the lack of need to pay for CDs and 8 track cartridges.