Trying to lose weight - Sports drink and food during ride

dubcat
dubcat Posts: 754
edited July 21 in Road beginners

I’m rather overweight but I started cycling again last week. First time since 2012! I did run a few marathons since then but since Covid I’ve put on over 3 stone in weight and done zero running, cycling or anything else.

I’m really enjoying slipping in to my XXL bibshorts and going out for a ride.

What should I do about on the bike nutrition though? My research tells me it’s important for me to take on calories but that’s completely counter to me losing weight.

How many carbs/sugar should I look to take on during the following ride lengths, if any?

• 45m-1h 15m mid week rides
  • 2h-3h weekend rides
2010 Specialized Rockhopper
2012 Bianchi Infinito

Comments

• Mad_Malx
    Mad_Malx Posts: 5,174

You shouldn’t need anything extra during your short rides unless you are pushing constantly TT-style.

• pblakeney
    pblakeney Posts: 27,157

I'm no expert but I'm going to suggest that anything less than an hour* doesn't need any extra fuel past hydration.

*I'd extend that up to 2 hours if taking it easy.

The above may be fact, or fiction, I may be serious, I may be jesting.
    I am not sure. You have no chance.
    Veronese68 wrote:
    PB is the most sensible person on here.
  • sungod
    sungod Posts: 17,268

humans typically have glycogen reserve c. 2000kcal, and umpteen times that in fat reserves

glycogen is easier to burn when using a lot of energy

your body can't burn fat nearly as fast, so even though there's loads of energy there, it doesn't help much once intensity increases (though this can improve with training)

so you do burn a bit of fat, but it's mostly glycogen and fresh carbs as fast as you can digest them, hence the need to eat in races/hard training

but unless you are riding really hard, you don't need anything extra for 2-3 hours - think how many hours you can walk around without needing food