Thinking about switching from carbon fiber to titanium

Hello.

I've been riding a carbon fiber road bike for over ten years, but I've been considering buying a titanium bike for several reasons. Ride quality (Smooth ride) Longevity. (The bike will last a long, long time.) Customization. Built for my body and how I ride. And endurance. The event rides that I do are 100+ miles. I'm also older. (Over 60) One other caveat - I ride with a group that does a lot of climbing. (They train for a 150-mile ride with 10,000 feet of climbing.)

My main concern with titanium is the weight vs carbon, particularly on the climbs. So, with all that, has anyone switched from carbon fiber to titanium, and if so, what are your thoughts? 

Comments

• First.Aspect
    First.Aspect Posts: 16,700

How much will you, your clothing, your water bottle and your carbon bike weigh?

How much will you, your clothing, your water bottle and your titanium bike weigh?

There will probably be about 300g out of a total of about 90,000g difference. If that bothers you, you should also be worried about aeroshaped tubing and the drag caused by a beard. If you are doing insurance riding, I presume you could care less.

Titanium can look nice and ride well. But not necessarily. If you do go custom, choose well, talk about what you want with the builder and it will be great.

Fwiw I have a high end Ti frame and it's not the stiffest bike I have, hence "springy". Personally I love it, and it takes the edge off out of saddle climbing.

• ugo.santalucia
    ugo.santalucia Posts: 28,310
    edited January 6

Waste of money, unless the geometry/size of your bike is wrong. Carbon fibre is so “harsh”, that even titanium bikes use carbon forks to improve the ride quality, go figure…

metal frames are limited by having a construction made with joined tubes, with carbon you can do any shape you want, therefore the frames are far superior.