Proper Wheel Upgrade for a Big Bastard

BigBastardonaGiant
edited August 2019 in Road buying advice
As you could tell by the screen name I’m a real big bastard. 6’2’’ 300 pounds; nothing but muscle and blood...and maybe a little fat.

I bought a giant defy five road bike three years ago. At that time I was a little leaner than I am now. This year when I started riding it late summer (just recently) The rear wheel developed broken springs on each of the three rides I’ve been on.

I’m really loving the bike again. However, I feel I need to get a better rear wheel now that I have a few more pounds to shed.

When I call bike shops, either local, cross state, or online, They all don’t really have an answer for me on what I should buy. I feel like I’m the first 300 pound guy that they’ve ever talked to. And it’s as if they can’t get around the fact that I weigh so much that they get dumbfounded.

All I’ve been asking is what is the industry standard for the best rim for heavy riders. They keep focusing on the weight ratings of heavier duty rims stopping at 220lbs and that’s pretty much the only answer they give me.

Two recommended wheels were the:

1. Quality Wheels Clydesdale

2. DT Swiss R460

I apologize in advance for not searching the forum and finding the answer that’s already there (possibly).

Could anyone tell me what I should get in order to lessen my spoke breakage and still maintain a nice smooth road bike feel with my tires and rims?

Comments

• timothyw
    timothyw Posts: 2,482
    Whereabouts are you located?

I am close to your weight and ride about 8000 km a year on road bikes.

I build my own wheels, although I haven't hit upon a perfect formula yet - they do tend to last a good couple of thousand miles before they need repair though.
  • TimothyW wrote:
    Whereabouts are you located?

I am close to your weight and ride about 8000 km a year on road bikes.