Legs, hills... aggghh

dale_harrison
dale_harrison Posts: 9
edited July 2018 in Road beginners
Hi there,

New rider, been cycling on and off for a couple years, way more off than on tbh. Got back into it a few weeks ago, got myself a hybrid (Giant FastRoad CoMax) to act as a commuter and something to take round the country B roads where I live (East Sussex) for a bit of fitness.

I'm plodding along at the moment at around 50 miles a week, normally do a lunchtime (when working from home) or evening (when back from work) 10-20 mile ride - using Strava to log data - find that element quite interesting, and fun occasionally trying to better PRs on some segments.

...what I am finding however is since I started riding again my cardiovascular fitness has improved lots (not by any means in comparison to other riders, but I've noticed it myself in how I feel as well as seeing some segment times naturally improve without really trying) - but what is irritating me a lot is how my legs seem to be the first thing to give up - I've not seen this before - I'd run out of puff before my legs say enough!!

I have one local "hill" (Dewlands Hill - Rotherfield, East Sussex) that I'm sure to you lot would be a load of old meh - but I've just not been able to summit the damn thing. Strava sticks it in as a Cat4, but I think that is rubbish and am not going to get hooked up on what Strava thinks - all I know is I can't finish the climb yet, and I really want to!!

Is there something I should be targeting / doing to help improve the capability of my quads / legs? Or should I just keep riding, start going a bit further, a bit faster as time passes and try it again periodically?

Appreciate any useful insight :)

Comments

• shirley_basso
    shirley_basso Posts: 6,195
    Generally speaking, if you have easy enough gears, you can spin up without too much muscular effort, albeit at a low speed and it takes longer.