Advice for a Complete Noive

Aruntim
Aruntim Posts: 2
edited August 2017 in MTB beginners
Hi there, i'm new to the whole bike world so all the biking lingo i've been reading is going over my head so bit of help please. i've just got my first MTB and went for a GT Aggressor
http://www.wiggle.co.uk/gt-aggressor-sp ... tain-bike/
my budget was tight and didn't want to spend to much to start.

what should i be looking to do to get the best out of my bike etc? handlebar height? seat height? etc. My fitness levels are terrible ( currently smoke too) and i live in the middle of the south downs so hills everywhere! So even the slightest thing to help will be brilliant!

Few (what i think are) problems

Squeaks: Breaks from day one have been squeaking and now my front suspension has decided to join the party, whats the best way to remedy this?

Clothing: i've just been wearing regular clothing i've had in my wardrobe, saddle sore has become a new 'friend' that doesn't want to go home, would you advise on even budget cycling clothing or is this something that you quickly get use to?

footwear: i've been wearing vans or running shoes on occasion what have you found to be the best trainers to wear?

I'd appreciate any advice you guys could offer even if its something i may not of thought about as i said i am completely green to this sort of thing but already loving it and want to improve every aspect of my ride before i start to invest in additional equipment/ parts

thank you in advance.

Tim

Comments

• The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    Brakes squeak, as long as they work, just ignore it, trying to stop it usually makes things much worse. Make sure you don't contaminate them with anything that shouldn't be there, oil, wd40 etc etc, don't use brake cleaner! For the forks you want a wipe of fork oil on the stanchions.