Has anyone made a big career change after 30?

2»

Comments

• andyrr
    andyrr Posts: 1,819
    To my mind you are coming at this a bit from the wrong direction.
    At 31 you are only around 10 years into a working lifetime that could have a further 40 years to go so as someone that has decided that just carrying on doing something that they don't really think is satisfying, your 1st thing is to work out what you DO want to do, not just what will be better than your current job and still pays ok.
    I worked in IT support for 25 years, most of the time thinking "Why am I still doing this, it's crap". I was paid pretty well but the years went by and I started to see the depressing sameness of a totally unfulfilling job - it's a waste of my life.
    Got a mortgage and family to deal with but I had to take the jump - now retraining to be a teacher which is very hard going combining a degree course study with working part-time, and main child-carer duties as my wife works full-time now.
    I'd acknowledge that I am about 15+ years late in making the change - had some roads I could gave gone down in the past but never committed sufficiently to them (sports photography, journalism etc) so I'm doing my darnedest to succeed at this. Might fail, will earn less and probably be working harder if I do end up teaching.

It sounds like you are a bit like me in that there is not one totally overriding job you want to pursue, just ones that you've identified as taking your fancy as being satisfying. Maybe continue to investigate all possible avenues as there could be so something a bit left-field that grabs you.

Good luck.
  • prhymeate
    prhymeate Posts: 795