Zee rear mech mangled in wheel

Oli-custumXC
Oli-custumXC Posts: 4
edited February 2016 in MTB workshop & tech
Hello! It's my first time posting in here.
Basically, I was cycling home last night and hopped up onto the kerb when I heard a sickening crunch.
At first, I thought it was my rim on the kerb, and when I had the courage to turn around and have a look, my Shimano Zee rear mech found its way in between my spokes and it was completely written off!
fortunately, the wheel is fine (even the spokes).

I wanted to know it this has happened to anyone else? I spent ages researching and shopping for this thing, not to mention getting the right chain tension and fine tuning once I bought it. It was a huge step up from my last mech, but it was supposed to be a mech designed for punishment ...not a component that would falter once gravity turned up...
Should I get in touch with the retailer, or Shimano themselves? ....or is it a lost cause?

It was a shimano Zee shadow plus M640

12714224_430202463844137_1380881384_n.jpg?oh=2604158ad42ef87baf3aebc2cc04b477&oe=56C062A1

12674105_430202527177464_1090923281_n.jpg?oh=09fe1dcc8b3e7a29ff32fd1749b02746&oe=56C05007

Comments

• oodboo
    oodboo Posts: 2,171
    Did you hit the curb straight on or was it at an angle?
    I'm just guessing here but to me it looks like the wheel has warped when you hit the curb and pushed the spokes into the deraileur before springing back into shape. I don't think you can blame the deraileur for this. Just an unlucky combination of factors.
    I love horses, best of all the animals. I love horses, they're my friends.

Strava
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Yep, mech didn't fail, either wheel as above, or not adjusted properly.

Where's the rookie ring when you need it?
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812