15 Hours/Week

shamrock122
shamrock122 Posts: 9
Hi all,
Long time lurker, first time poster here :D

Background:
So, i have been cycling for approx 3 years now and i want to take my training to the next level for next season. For the first two years of my cycling career i was only interested in cycling for fun with my club and did lots of sportives etc. I averaged about 2500 miles per year for those first two years. My averages speeds were decent enough but i could never hang on with the best guys on the club, always got dropped 3/4s of the way up a climb.

However, this year i dipped my toe into racing and well, i am hooked! I mainly competed in club league events and i did surprisingly well - i got two top 5's during the 8 rounds of the league. I was really enjoying racing but i definitely feel that my fitness level has plateaued a bit towards the end of the league.

Previous training
I think there may be a few reasons for this. Firstly, I did absolutely no winter training last year - looking back on my strava stats i averaged 12-15 hours per month from November to February. I definitely feel this was the main reason i plateaued later in the season - i just didn't have the base to call on later in the season.
I only began training properly for the league approx 6 weeks before it began and i used TrainerRoad approx 3 nights per week to bring me up to speed. I felt this really improved my fitness quickly and made me race-sharp.

I continued using the Trainer until about the middle of May and at that stage i moved all of my training to the outdoors. In hindsight, this was a bad decision as i wasn't pushing as hard outdoors compared to when i was on the trainer. I was inclined to go out and ride for 2-3 hours and a moderate pace (approx 70-80% of my max). The lack of high intensity training (as i was used to on the turbo) resulted in me losing my top end explosive power and i struggled in the last 2/3 rounds of the league where i was dropped :oops:

The plan