cycling newbie after some advice

gkirky
gkirky Posts: 4
edited September 2015 in MTB workshop & tech
hello all,
my names george, this is my first post on the website or any other so im sorry if its in the wrong place. i started riding on and off road about a month ago and really enjoyed it, the only problem was my bike, i mean it was a cheap-as-chips car boot jobby and i dont mind admitting it is sh*t haha! as i enjoyed riding i though an upgrade was in order, though being a student unfortunatly money is lacking. i have bought myself a kona blast ( not sure of age as i bought it on eBay) and it seems perfect for me, although i want it to be reliable so i would like to replace some of the parts that are looking worn.
firstly the chain slips occasionally, so i thought it would be best to replace the chain, front and back sprocket (or would it be easier to just buy a new rear wheel and front sprocket??)
i have had a look online for these, but it seem i need a little more bike knowledge before i buy the wrong parts. currently i have 21 ( 3X7 ) gears on my bike, so would i be right in thinking i need a 7 speed bike chain? and also does it matter what chain i buy, as i can see they vary in price?
With the back sprocket (or do you call it a cassette?!) im assuming i would need a 7 speed again..? had a quick look on halfrauds website and i dont really know what the 12 - 28T means but would i need something like this?

http://www.halfords.com/cycling/bike-parts/gears-drivetrain-cables/shimano-cs-hg20-7-speed-cassette-12-28t

(i know this is a very cheap one, and i would rather get one thats a bit more expensive and will last longer, this is just an example)

ill leave it there for now as im asking a lot of questions and could probably do with something to read before i go much further, well thanks for reading and hopefully ill get a few replies,
george

Comments

• i'd just get a new 7 speed cassette and chain . you'll need some special tools to fit them though
  • cooldad