Bad weather cycling tips

ashteya
ashteya Posts: 2
edited September 2014 in The workshop
Hello all!

Newbie here, my first post so a bit of my cycling background if of interest:

I haven't cycled since I was a child, but having secured a lovely permanent full time job 3 miles away in the centre of town I got a hybrid bike through work's cyclescheme, fully intending to commute on it all year round.

I've done a fair bit of running in the past and actually tended to enjoy it more in the rain and dark. Rather naively I thought this would transpose into cycling.

BUT today I had my first proper downpour awful weather ride home and to be honest I'm a bit scared. Although I have a peaked helmet, I couldn't see anything and can only imagine what my face must have looked like, probably a soggy dried apricot with the amount of grimacing I did. My feet were slipping all over the pedals. The water masked all cracks and potholes, I was freezing and absolutely saturated and all that was going through my mind is that this is summer - July.

Anyway, the point of this post is to ask for some basic advise. As a poor person, what gear should I first invest in to make bad weather cycling less dangerous and more comfortable? Some sort of a face shield or umbrella helmet perhaps?

Any help would be gratefully received!

Comments

• anthdci
    anthdci Posts: 543
    for your eyes get some wrap around sunglasses. Wiggle do a pair that comes with 3 lenses, a sun glasses type lens, and orange lens for seeing in the dull and a clear lens for darkness. That will keep the vast majority of rain off your eyes, the rest of your face doesn't really matter! Think they are about £30.

For pedals get some SPD style pedals and shoes, you click your feet into them so when you push on one leg you can pull on the other. M520 pedals can be had for about £15, and shoes for about £50.