Patella pain - position help (with video)

thomasmorris
thomasmorris Posts: 373
Background:
I've been road biking since November 2012, start racing last year and am now starting my second season as 2nd cat. I never had any knee issues all last year doing 14,000k. Here's my strava account for riding history: http://app.strava.com/athletes/458344

Around Christmas i felt slight pain behind the knee cap in my left knee, took a week easy and it started to feel OK, so I started training hard the second week of Jan (making an effort to do some proper interval training this year rather than just riding around). It then flared up again after a hard ride in mid January. So I put my saddle up 3 mm and back 1cm.

I then raced the weekend before last and it flared up really bad. Took a day off and put my saddle up another couple of mm and carried on training last week, but then my first big race of the season was cancelled last weekend so I've decided to take a break to sort out this problem.

Video of position:
All round view: http://youtu.be/uDDLcnYXAh0
Front view with black tape for knee tracking: http://youtu.be/XjjxrXQT3pE

Going forward:
I'm icing the knee every day this week and taking a complete break from riding. I'm now stretching my hip flexors and doing VMO strengthening exercises both of which should address imbalances affecting patella tracking.

Currently, I can't bend my knee to stretch my quads without pain, but hopefully as I reduce swelling I will be able to do this also.

I've already but my saddle up 5mm. Anyone got any thoughts on my position?

Comments

• neal1984
    neal1984 Posts: 240
    I've currently got exactly the same problem with my right knee. My physio told me to stretch my hip flexors and quads quite aggressively for 2 to 3 weeks and he is confident that this will solve the issue.