best frame material

jawooga
jawooga Posts: 530
edited July 2013 in MTB beginners
Hello.

I am a newbie to MTB but wondered about frame material. What's the frame choice du jour? I believe there's been a steel renaissance with road bikes due to comfort and other qualities. Is this the same with mountain bikes? Or is steel still old school, heavy and comfort benefits out weighed by quality of forks etc.

Thanks

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    It depends how the frame is constructed. All frames can be flexy or stiff, depending on what is done with the material. Generally light steel frames tend top have a bit of spring, but they are still a lot heavier than a light aluminium frame.

Carbon is king now. Is light, tough, easily repaired and easily manipulated.
  • jawooga
    Cheers Supersonic. Shows how out of step i am with mountain bikes that it never occurred to me that carbon is up to the job. Sounds like exactly the same arguments as road bikes. I guess as mtb frames tend to be more solid (bigger) than road, then the extra weight of steel is more significant?
  • supersonic
    It can be yes, they have to pass rather tough CEN tests if sold in Europe. The lightest commonly found steel frame is the Cotic soul at around 4.5lbs. The OnOne Carbon 456 is cheaper and over a lb lighter - xc versions lighter still. My Zaskar frame is quite old now but is 3.1lbs with headset cups and can take a 130mm fork.

I wouldn't recommend steel for any MTbing nowadays unless you really must have thick tough walls that don't dent easily (ie heavy steel frames). Ride quality is as much affected by tyres, seatpost, bars grips and especially suspension.
  • rockmonkeysc
    rockmonkeysc Posts: 14,774
    It depends what you want from your frame. For a dirt jump or hardtail downhill bike steel is unbeatable.
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    Rubbish.......

Norco Torrent is the easiest one to mention