Helmet heat

Tourist
Tourist Posts: 3
edited October 2012 in Commuting general
Hi everyone,

I am a Product Design Engineering student at the University of Strathclyde. I am working on a project aiming to make helmets more comfortable by regulating the temperature inside the helmet during use, and I would like to ask some questions of you.

For those that don’t wear a helmet, how much does comfort (heat in the helmet specifically) factor in that? Would a helmet that either cooled or warmed your head (dependent on the weather) affect your decision

For those that do wear helmets when you ride, would a significantly more temperature-regulated design be attractive to you? Would you mind a little bit of extra weight if it was significantly less hot/cold while you were riding?

Any help with this would be much appreciated!

Comments

• Initialised
    Initialised Posts: 3,047
    If your head is too hot in summer you need less hair. If it's too cold you wear a skull cap under your brain bucket. TBH it sounds like you'retrying to solve a problem that isn't.
    I used to just ride my bike to work but now I find myself going out looking for bigger and bigger hills.
  • I can't say it would make any difference to me. A simple adjustable visor would be useful to keep the sun out of my eyes when it's low in the sky. Currently I use a cap under my helmet for that, but with the cap it can be a bit too hot sometimes.
  • I concur, I'm a baldy.. If I'm cold I have a cycle cap under my lid, if im too hot I take it off.. And no I wouldn't pay more for a gimmick helmet that would inevitably be heavier - being an engineer myself I'm trying to suss out how you would put something in a helmet to regulate the temp that wouldn't be detrimental to my head if I had a collision.. All I can see is a smashed head with some PCB board, battery pack and a wiring loom imbedded within.
  • Mikey41
    Mikey41 Posts: 690