Hilly TT technique

GarryM
GarryM Posts: 77
edited September 2012 in Training, fitness and health
I'm a newbie to Time Trialling (only ridden two 10m TT's on the same hilly course) and have a question specific to time trials on hilly courses. I understand the principle of maintaining the maximum work rate that you can sustain for the length of the course. I wondered about the hills and found this on the interweb:

"Now here’s one difference to the ”ride-at-an-even-pace throughout” mantra: Try pushing a tiny bit harder uphill, and then ease off slightly on the descents. Do this and you will achieve an overall quicker time.

Try it: it works!

About 20 watts more power riding uphill will save you more time than you will lose by reducing 20 watts going downhill. This is because there is a stronger aerodynamic drag at higher velocities."

Makes sense but before I found this I was thinking I'd try (on my next TT) pushing harder just as I near the top of the hill and over the top so as to benefit from a higher speed all the way down the other side, i.e. a bit like a racing car exiting a corner with more speed and being able to hold that extra speed all the way along the next straight (sorry for using a car analogy on this site!)

What do you think? (can you tell it's Friday afternoon? :) )

Comments

• dawebbo
    dawebbo Posts: 456
    Rather than push harder uphill, think of it as push harder when going slower.
  • alihisgreat
    alihisgreat Posts: 3,872
    dawebbo wrote:
    Rather than push harder uphill, think of it as push harder when going slower.

I thought this was common sense?
  • jon208
    jon208 Posts: 335
    Or put another way - if it feels hard, go harder.

(Fnar, fnar, etc, etc)
  • cyco2
    cyco2 Posts: 593