Planning my first tour!

zoglug
zoglug Posts: 212
edited July 2012 in Tour & expedition
Hey everyone!

I am after some advice from you tour experts, but first a bit of background. I have been cycling now for the past 5 years. I began in order to shed some weight (22 stone when i started) and now, after a little lapse the last couple of months i sit at 17 stone. I commute each way to work (6 miles each way) and cycle most weekends. I also do the Mcr - Blackpool and the Mcr 100 mile ride each year. I absolutely love cycling, however, i hanker for something more!

I have always dreamt of doing LEJoG, however, the cost of getting to the start and home again is extortionate and i simply can not afford the trip, so with my mind in overdrive, i have started looking to head a little further afield, but make it a round trip starting and finishing in Manchester. Things are in the very early stages at the moment, before i start buying equipment i want a solid plan in place and i am looking to pick the brains of some of the more experienced tourers, as if i enjoy this, im hoping to make it a yearly thing, somewhere different each time. At the minute, there are two of us considering this, but i would quite happily consider doing it solo too.

So far the plan is along the lines of:- Beginning in May 2013 (i need time to train/purchase lightweight gear & bike/& train some more!!!)

Manchester - Dover (3 days)
Hop on the ferry to Calais
Calais - Paris (2 days)
Spend an extra day in and around Pairs exploring and recharging my batteries
Paris - Brugge (2/3 days)
Spend an extra day in Brugge exploring/recharging etc
Brugge - Rotterdam (2 days)
Hop on the overnight ferry to Hull
Hull - Manchester (1 day)

Firstly, with regards to the actual locations, is there anywhere in particular you would look to visit, or indeed look to avoid? Im worried about the potential thefts in the major cities, but i guess that is a threat most places.