Help choosing road shoes

mdazza
mdazza Posts: 6
edited May 2012 in Road beginners
I'm on a pretty tight budget of about 70 pounds as i'm a student. There are two shoes i've come across within my budget that i do like though. These are the Giro Treble and the Specialized BG Sport. I was wondering if anyone has any experience with either or both of these and which you'd recommend...
I thought everything was going well. Then life happened.

Comments

• amaferanga
    amaferanga Posts: 6,789
    Have you tried them on? If not, try them on. Then you should be able to decide for yourself. Doesn't matter what anyone else says really if they don't fit your feet.
    More problems but still living....
  • mdazza
    I've tried the specialized but my lbs doesn't stock the giro so they would be an online purchase. Are giro shoes generally true to size?
  • ShutUpLegs
    ShutUpLegs Posts: 3,522
    Specialized BG range are very good, maybe have a look at the DHB carbons from Wiggle?
  • mdazza
    The dhb carbons would be perfect if they had my size (42). I just wondered if there was any inherent benefit of one over the other brand wise assuming the giro trebles fit as well as the specialized.
    Any other suggestions?
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    I have the shimano r077. Not bad at all - perhaps could be stiffer. Probs save enough for a round of vodbulls afterwards too. Pricematched mine at fatbirds.co.uk and bought from Evans.
  • itboffin
    itboffin Posts: 20,052
    ive been using the spesh BG daily for the commute for the last 3-4 years, fit and comfort just about perfect although I find they generally only last one UK commuting year before the smell gets to bad or they fall apart, I have also recently switched to the blue higher arch insoles which makes them even more comfortable.

That said I also have sidis, northwave, pearl and now diadora http://www.diadora.com/en/16/41/2672/cy ... try_2.html the spesh are still the most comfortable.