correct cadence for Sportive

roshay
roshay Posts: 2
I am a newbie to road cycling - having a bit of a mid life crisis and looking for a sport where my 50 yr old body does not break whenever I get competitive (not helped by carring a bit to much weight - which makes hills a real disappointment).

In the recent Cycling Plus article on training for sportives (suplement to March 2012) it recommended training at a cadence of 90-95. I find this too fast - and am comfortable at 75-80.

I am wondering whether this has anything to do with having been a rower for 15 years (and reaching a pretty good level) - so my legs are used to a slower "power" cadence - or whether its just that I need to do more training!

Advice and tips gratefully received. I've splashed out on a second hand Canyon in carbon so cannot blame the machinery.

Anthony

Comments

• After a few years of cycling, you'll most likely naturally begin to pedal a little faster as you become fitter. Don't be overly concerned with it. Focus on effort level and choose a gear that feels good.
  • HiMoz
    HiMoz Posts: 62
    Just remember that Lance Armstrong was capable of sustaining a high cadence of around 120rpm and so you should undoubtedly be aiming to achieve the same at your sportive.
  • jgsi
    jgsi Posts: 5,062
    There is no right or wrong in cadence to a major extent.... but if you start to do any group riding, by and large, you will probably be 'out of synch' with a cadence below 80.
    For training for quicker cadences use smaller gears, even if it feels like you are going 'no where' - hence on the turbo is ideal :)
  • simon_e
    simon_e Posts: 1,706
    HiMoz wrote:
    Just remember that Lance Armstrong was capable of sustaining a high cadence of around 120rpm and so you should undoubtedly be aiming to achieve the same at your sportive.