Manchester - Southport Route advice

hmbadger
hmbadger Posts: 181
Hi,

Was thinking of joining a few people for a charity ride, Manchester-Southport.

However having looked at the route, nearly all the route is on A roads - lots on East Lancs Road and the A570. Is there a cycle path at side of East Lancs Road? (From Google there appears to be).

Route is here http://ridewithgps.com/routes/878978

Is this a sensible route? I'm not that experienced a rider but like most people I think I avoid A roads as much as I can.

Cheers

Comments

• hmbadger
    Sorry, of course the starting point is Stockport, not Manchester - not that material to the question I don;t think. I'd just looked up the Man-Blackpool route, so had Manchester in my mind. Could pinch some of that route though?
  • mrushton
    mrushton Posts: 5,182
    There is a path but the route is horrible. The A580 is the major trunk rd (dual carriageway, no view, mad speeding traffic). Not sure about any of that route tbh in terms of pleasant riding. There are better ways to Southport but I live in Nth Mcr so it's a different way for me
    M.Rushton
  • dd1
    dd1 Posts: 73
    There are paths alongside the A580, but as mrushton says, not a very nice route. Too much stopping and starting and too much traffic
    The A570 does have bike paths on either side of the road, but only up to where it goes under the M58. From then on its single carriageway all the way to Southport, which again is another busy road.
    Very flat from the start of the A570 onwards, but always windy along the A570 as very exposed over the fields.
    If possible, I would come off the A570 before you get to the M58, and use the smaller roads that run parallel to it eg turn onto Intake Lane and go through Bickerstaffe and then onto Chuch Lane and then Long Lane. This will take you off the main road and also avoids having to go through the centre of Ormskirk.