700c disc wheel rebuild

woolwich
woolwich Posts: 298
edited March 2011 in Workshop
Folks,
I am currently riding a cyclocross bike as my only form of transport.
Usually the canti brakes are passable.However add some weight, speed or dampness and i find they become a liability on the road. I've lost confidence in them and a change is necessary.
I have ordered new forks that will accomodate a disc, a cable operated disc caliper and a disc hub.
I am new to wheel rebuilding but have recently done a basic course so have a rough idea of what i am going to do. However I want to check that it will ok to recycle the existing font rim? Or should i order a disc specific rim? Obviously with new spokes the correct lenght.
I am wondering if the design of the rims are different for rim activated brakes or hub activated brakes or am I worrying uneccessarily and should just do it.
Any thoughts gratefully received.
Mud to Mudguards. The Art of framebuilding.
http://locksidebikes.co.uk/

Comments

• John.T
    John.T Posts: 3,698
    Just use the existing rim. If you get a new rim, hub and spokes it would have been cheaper to get a new wheel. I re-hubbed mine using centre lock disc hubs and was able to use the same spokes. Probably got the only bike out there with discs and ceramic rims.
  • woolwich
    Thanks John. I'm sure it will be fine. If I re-build the wheel myself, with a cheapo £12 Deore hub and re-use the rim, i can do the whole conversion for more or less £200 depending how many spokes I need. So well worth doing.
    Cheers
  • John.T
    John.T Posts: 3,698
    I used centre lock hubs where the disc is splined on to the hub and held with a lockring. The flanges are the same size as the non disc ones and the disc side flange is only a little further in so I was able to re-use all my old spokes. These wheels have been on my MTB for over 3 years now with no trouble at all. It saved quite a few bob. :D
  • Monty Dog
    Monty Dog Posts: 20,614