Taking it to the next level...

garysan
garysan Posts: 63
Ok, so I've been riding casually since early 2007 - initially on MTB but late last summer I bought a road bike, partly because I wanted to do more distance + I rather like the image :) When I'm able and have good weather I do around 100 miles per week during the 'season' and less during winter.

Now, I can manage 20 miles without a problem, mostly on flat roads with the occasional small hill (I live in Lincolnshire) so not much in the way of Alps...

My problem seems to be when I want to do 30 miles and beyond. As an example, I did a very laid back 15 mile on Saturday with the wife on her MTB (avg. HR 119) and then as I wasn't fully sated, I went out again on Sunday morning (avg. HR 140) - still taking it a bit easier than I usually do - just bought the heart rate monitor and trying to keep it down below 140 rather than flogging my guts out going as fast as is (un)comfortable.

Rest day on Monday and then today with the nice weather I decided to extend things a bit and went for 30 miles (avg. HR 149) still taking it a bit easier than pre heart-rate monitor but clearly a smidge more oomph than the weekend. This evening, I'm knackered... legs really ache and a thick/achy head to boot. I'll feel fine in the morning (always do) but struggle to get my head around how I can move to 30, 40, 50, 100 miles comfortably. I managed to get up to 20/22 without too much of a struggle.

There's all the background now for the actual question: Should I/Do I need to be taking a carb/energy drink with me instead of water/Nuun ? Is this why when I go beyond 20 miles I start to suffer?

Any and all input appreciated, Gary.

Comments

• Lightning
    Lightning Posts: 360
    You did something you're not used to so now you're tired. That's normal. Keep doing it and you'll get used to it (and move to 40). I'm assuming this is the problem and not nutrition.