Long climbs!

anto164
anto164 Posts: 3,500
Hey all.

Just a quick question.

I've been riding a road bike now for 3 months, doing alright (I can ride 50mi of rolling routes with an ave of 18mph), and now i fancy doing a route i've driven a few times in the car.

This is the route

http://www.bikely.com/maps/bike-path/ho ... -pass-ride

Basically from the middle of llangollen, up the horseshoe pass, and round the back of llandegla woods over worlds end and back to llangollen.

Now, as i live on the coast, and on a peninsular, there's no real hill training. But i'm wanting to do this ride next week before i go back to work after a few weeks off. Just wondering what the best method of attack is for the long hills (about 2/3rs of the way up, the horseshoe turns to a 20pc hill for just over half a mile). Just a case of spinning, spinning, and more spinning? It's only a 'short' ride, but it's about 4x the climbing i've ever done in one long ride, but in a much shorter ride instead.

BTW, i'll do a quick loop of the back roads of llangollen to get warmed up before starting the ride.

Comments

• Chris James
    Chris James Posts: 1,040
    anto164 wrote:
    Hey all.

Just a quick question.

I've been riding a road bike now for 3 months, doing alright (I can ride 50mi of rolling routes with an ave of 18mph), and now i fancy doing a route i've driven a few times in the car.
    Just wondering what the best method of attack is for the long hills[/b] (about 2/3rs of the way up, the horseshoe turns to a 20pc hill for just over half a mile). Just a case of spinning, spinning, and more spinning? It's only a 'short' ride, but it's about 4x the climbing i've ever done in one long ride, but in a much shorter ride instead.

18mph over a rolling 50 miles sounds pretty good going. I can't imagine you having any problems on the Horseshoe Pass.