giving blood-affecting performance?

tozi1
tozi1 Posts: 119
Does blood donation affect performance?-the day after giving blood i was miles slower on my regular ride,and still am several days later,i gather the blood volume is restored in 48 hrs,and my nurse wife thinks i'm imagining it!-i should say i am new to training and depressingly unfit.

Comments

• zammmmo
    zammmmo Posts: 315
    edited May 2009
    Yes it will affect performance - you are removing some of your bodies ability to move oxygen and, I suspect, will create a drop in pressure. Not sure how long the body takes to get volume back up to 'normal' - I think it might be about 1 week - google it........
  • cougie
    cougie Posts: 22,512
    Yes it does - I've donated on a Thursday and ran a 10k on the Sunday and my times were down.

Sometimes I've trained successfully after giving and sometimes i really do notice it.

Either way - its a good thing to do - so go for it.
  • celbianchi
    celbianchi Posts: 854
    Giving blood is a bad idea if you are racing, you should do it out of season.
    It takes around 3 weeks for things to be completely back to normal. So even if you are just training hard it will impact.
  • SpinningJenny
    SpinningJenny Posts: 889
    Yep, it will certainly affect you. My mate the personal trainer gave blood and suffered with light headedness and feeling generally feeble for a while afterwards.
    Ned Flanders: “You were bicycling two abreast?”
    Homer Simpson: “I wish. We were bicycling to a lake.”

Specialized Rockhopper Pro Disc 08
  • Alex_Simmons/RST
    Alex_Simmons/RST Posts: 4,161
    celbianchi wrote:
    Giving blood is a bad idea if you are racing, you should do it out of season.
    It takes around 3 weeks for things to be completely back to normal. So even if you are just training hard it will impact.
    it can take longer than that even up to 6 weeks to replace the lost red blood cells.

good for the community, lousy for race performance
  • SBezza